Sunday, October 9, 2011

White People Stuff

If you don't know me, I'm of the Caucasian race.  In other words, I'm white(pronounce the 'H'), a honkey, a cracker, a ghost, or whatever other racial epitaph you want to use.  But here's the kicker, I don't like white people stuff.  I mean pretty much everything that I really enjoy is things that black people are typically associated with.  I'll run down the list for you

I like Hip hop(not Weezy and shit like that) People like Jay-Z, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Common, The Roots, J. Cole, Kanye, Lupe Fiasco and other artists that actually rap about something other than 'moving pounds of yayo in the streets'.

My favorite sport is NBA Basketball(but Max there are a lot of people that like the NBA, yeah they are called black people).  For the most part if you asked a white male in the streets what his favorite sport to watch is, I highly doubt you are going to get too many that will say 'NBA basketball it's FANTASTIC'.

My favorite athletes are as follows 1. Charles Barkley 2. Deion Sanders 3. Julius Erving 4. Bill Russell 5. Ken Griffey Jr. 6. Muhammad Ali (I mean really, can you get any blacker than those 6?).

I love watermelon(what? It's a delicious fruit)

I love white women with big butts(and I REALLY love my wife, sorry babe it's true, you have a huge butt and it is AWESOME).

I'm not racist(yes I know there are other racist people besides white people, but when Eddie Murphy was trying to buy a pie he wasn't haggling with a Hispanic or an Asian)

My favorite actors go as follows - Denzel, Tom Hanks, Will Smith, and Morgan Freeman

My best friends in high school were mainly black - Clint, Quenton, Pickle, the Givens.  That's not saying that I didn't hang out with white people because I did(and now by far the majority of people I hang out with are white), but I was an athlete they were athletes we naturally just kicked it and usually I was the only guy in the crew.

My mom Cindy is a strong crazy woman who don't take shit from nobody.  Normally a trait reserved for single black mothers.


My favorite TV show is the Fresh Prince, and my favorite movie is the Blues Brothers, a movie about white guys doing black music.

I would rather wear Jordan and Nikes than whatever shoes white people wear(sketchers? Adidas? I really don't know).

My favorite car is not a Chevy but rather a Cadillac.

I voted for Obama

I've been to 7 musical concerts in my life in order they go like this - Pam Tillis(Yes Pam Tillis, I was 11, I had fun what can I say) Jay-Z and R. Kelly, Ludacris and Chamillionaire, Lupe Fiasco, 3-6 Mafia(freakin' horrible), Jay-Z again and J. Cole.  Of those concerts besides the Pam Tillis concert I was in the vast minority of people there(Translation - I was one of the few white people).

This is not to say I don't like white people stuff at all that's not true.  I like white people music(Sinatra, classic rock'n'roll, John Mayer, Dave Mathews).  But the majority of things I truly enjoy are black people things.  Including music, and the reason behind this is one reason. SOUL.  Black people have more of it, and it's something that I can hear in a voice.  So while listening to Jay-Z and Kanye rip the song Otis I realized how truly talented Otis Redding was.  So I decided to put him on my Pandora and song came across that is the sample to 'Otis'.  But it was a live version, and it was done in London(I think) and this song must be brought to the masses.

So the whole point of this pointless blog was to tell people about a great song that white people or black people can enjoy by a talented man with some soul.  So without further ado I bring you my man Otis Redding singing "Try a little tenderness" Live in London.  It's 7 minutes but listen up and be inspired.



Thanks for taking the time.. Poppa Bear appreciates it!  Until next time

What Is This?

Hello everybody! In the spirit of self promotion and 'getting my voice out there' I have decided to start a blog.  'About what?' you might ask, well I really don't know for sure, I think it will take me where ever I am at the time.  I'll probably speak on my thoughts about music, sports, marriage, the youth of today(I'm a teacher, so I see a lot of messed up stuff from today's youth), or whatever else I'm into at the time.  But before I get started with the relentlessness of self promotion I think I should tell you a little bit about myself, what has influenced me in my life, and why this blog is named 'learn ya something'.  SO without further ado

Learn Ya Something?? Really? Yes really.  This is an ode to my father Gary Green aka Geeg or GG.  When I was a kid and he wanted me to learn something from him the conversation would go like this..

GG - Come 'ere boy let me learn ya somethin'....
Me - Dad, it's 'teach ya somethin'
GG - I know that's what I said 'learn ya'
Me(usually confused) - alright whatever pop
GG (with a look of disgust due to my ignorance) - Son you think I don't know how to speak proper English?

Then the 'learning' would commence on both ends, my dad would teach me something and I would learn something.

I'm married to a wonderful woman who I love.  Her name is Aubre and I will probably talk about her.

My mother is named Cindy, or Cin as I will refer to her and she instilled many great values in me.

My sister is another one of my very best friends who is a large part of my life.  Her name is Lova.  It's a family name(kinda).

My old man is my best friend, he was my best man in the wedding, and I pretty much resemble him in most ways.

I have a great group of friends who are either insane(Ben Plummer), Alcoholics(Ben Plummer), avid gamblers(Clint, Givens, Ben Plummer), or just down to earth(everybody), but all loyal friends who will give you the shirt of their backs if it means you will buy them a drink later in the evening.

I mostly watch sports, I enjoy comedies, music, and a variety of other things. I'll try to have a point to my posts(not promised) and have something at the end(video, song, message, etc..)  Thanks for showing up and enjoy my nonsensical wizardry of the English language